Taking care of me, taking care of you

Hello my fellow human Beings:

Do you ever feel like you are juggling a hundred balls at the same time?  Demands of parents, children, bosses, co-workers, friends and your own to-do lists can keep piling the task balls into your overburdened arms.  Your cup runneth over with orders, requests, actions, and doings.  You feel overwhelmed with trying to keep all those balls in the air without dropping one or two.

At these times, you may often de-prioritize or toss aside the “taking care of me” things – like finding time to be still, to meditate and to connect.  You forget how important the “taking care of me” things are in helping you to take care of others.  You may think that you always need to put others’ needs ahead of your own needs otherwise you are acting selfishly.  However, you forget that if you just keep giving to and doing for others you consume your reserves and exhaust yourself in body, mind and spirit.

By pausing to take care of me, I can better take care of you.

When we make time to be still, to meditate and to reflect on our own needs, we reconnect with our inner strength and source of authenticity.  If we’ve neglected our own time to be still and be with ourselves for a while, we may find it a little tricky to take the time for personal pause periods.  We may feel guilty for taking me-time and the “I should be doing  … instead” thoughts pop into our heads.  But we need to remind ourselves that in order to take care of others well, we need to take care of ourselves well and we need to give ourselves permission to do so.

Take small steps forward.  Schedule in your me-pause periods into your busy schedule.  Give yourself the go ahead to take care of yourself.

As you do the “taking care of me” things, you will feel yourself getting re-energized, refocused and renewed.

Metaphysical teacher and author, Louise Hay, in her book, Meditations to Heal Your Life, reminds us that to take care of others we need to take care of ourselves.  She writes:

“Sometimes caring for others is an overwhelming job.  It is more than we had anticipated.  I learn to ask for help.  Whether I am a caregiver or a care-receiver, loving myself is one of the most important things I can do.  When I truly love and accept myself exactly as I am, it is as though I shift gears on some level.  Suddenly I can relax and know, deep in my heart, that all is well.”

I take care of myself the best I can so that I can take care of others well too.

So this week, remember to schedule in times for you to be still, to PAUSE, to meditate, to re-connect with your authentic self, your inner beauty, your source of strength, and strengthen your connection to Source/Universe/God.  By taking care of yourself in this way, you can better take care of others and you can live an abundant life!

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

