A New Year, A New Beginning, A New Perspective

Hello my fellow human Beings:

Happy 2015!

I know it has been a long time since I’ve written a blog post and I’m a bit rusty.

2014 was an eventful year for me with many highs and lows – emotionally stressful events and physically taxing demands – births, deaths and milestones on the path of life.  It was a full year.  Throughout it all, I know that hanging onto my meditation practice, even in bits and pieces, helped me to better manage the changing seas.  My practice helped me to be present as much as I could in as many moments as I could, so that I could truly experience life.

But now we are at the start of a new year.  For many this is a time of resolutions.  For me this new year, I wanted to take on a new beginning with a new perspective.  Instead of resolutions, I am making three commitments: a commitment to body, a commitment to mind and a commitment to spirit.

  I am making a commitment to exercise my body daily.

2014 made me realize the importance of good health and so I am making physical exercise a priority in my life.

  I am making a commitment to exercise my mind daily.

2014 emphasized the need for striving for a balanced mind to handle life’s curve balls in a realistic and fit manner.

Finally, I am making a commitment to nourish my spirit daily through prayers of thanksgiving and an attitude of gratitude.

2014 reminded me of all the blessings in my life and I am truly grateful for all the love that surrounds me.  So I wanted to start the year by saying a few thank-you’s.

Thank you to all of you who have inquired about my whereabouts and well-being.  Your concern and caring are touching.

Thank you to all my fellow bloggers whose blog posts I’ve enjoyed reading this past year.  Your photos and writings kept me inspired, amused and motivated.

Thank you to all you readers.  I look forward to journeying with you this year and hearing about what you are thankful for in 2014 or what blessings you are grateful for in 2015.

I believe it is in finding ways to be still, to be connected to our True Selves/the Universe/ God, that we truly live abundant lives.

In his book, The Power of Now, contemporary spiritual teacher, Eckhart Tolle, reminds us that in order to experience the beauty in the world we need to be truly still, connected and present.  He writes:

You have to put down for a moment your personal baggage of problems, of past and future, as well as all your knowledge; otherwise, you will see but not see, hear but not hear.  Your total presence is required.

Many people are so imprisoned in their minds that the beauty of nature does not really exist for them.  They might say, “What a pretty flower,” but that’s just a mechanical mental labeling.   Because they are not still, not present, they don’t truly see the flower, don’t feel its essence, its holiness — just as they don’t know themselves, don’t feel their own essence, their own holiness.

So as we start 2015, let’s make a commitment to let go of our baggage, to be still, to be connected and present, and to feel our own essence our own holiness, and live our own abundant lives!

[P.S. For all you goal-oriented persons, no worries, I have set some S.M.A.R.T. goals to back up and measure my commitments.]

 

2 thoughts on “A New Year, A New Beginning, A New Perspective

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

