Anytime is a good time to start again

Hello my fellow human Beings:

Whether it’s the start of a new year, a new season, or a new day, anytime is a good time to start again.

It has been awhile since I wrote my last blog post.  I have been juggling many balls in my life and writing this blog just didn’t seem to fit in with all the other demands, but I missed connecting with you all.  I missed being reminded of the mindfulness lessons as I shared them with you.  So I have returned to write again.

Even though I wasn’t blogging weekly, I still chose to keep up my meditation practice as best as I could.  Whether it was doing sitting meditation in my meditation space or on public transit or in waiting rooms, I tried to keep up my regular meditation practice for as many moments as I could.  Some days were better than others.  Some days I was only able to bring short bursts of mindfulness meditation or being consciously present into my life during short routine tasks like brushing my teeth, washing my hands, washing the dishes or walking to my next destination while focusing on my breath.

I did all this because I know that no matter how busy and demanding my life got, my meditation practice was essential to helping me manage it all.

It is a choice you make every moment of every day.

Do you want to let your old, negative thoughts take you over and let life’s busyness overwhelm you?

I choose to say “NO”.

Do you want to settle the mind chatter, be fully present in the moment, and see clearly?

I choose to say “YES”.

Do you want to start a new year, a new season, a new day with new possibilities for peace, love and happiness?

I choose to say “YES”.

But it’s all up to you. What choice will you make?

In his book, Happiness Now!, Dr. Robert Holden, Director of the Happiness Project, reminds us that the choices and decisions we make have the power to form our days.  He writes:

“Happiness cannot happen without your decision to be happy.

Love cannot grow without your decision to be loving.

Peace cannot blossom without your decision to be peaceful.

Freedom cannot bloom without your decision to be free.

Miracles cannot flower without your decision to be open.

Bliss cannot flourish without your decision to be guiltless.

Heaven cannot bear its fruits without your decision to receive.”

So as you start this next day, reflect on what you want this new day to be for you.

I hope you choose to be happy, to be loving, to be peaceful, to be mindful, to be present, to be truly You.

I hope you choose to make this new day a good time to start your meditation practice again.

I hope you choose to be still, to be connected, and to live an abundant life.

8 thoughts on “Anytime is a good time to start again

    • Aww, thanks for your comment, Antony. It feels good to be back and I will try my best to fit in more regular posts.

      BTW, have you recently moved from the UK to South Africa?

      Hope all’s well with you there.

      Blessings!

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

