Forget, remember or understand?

Hello my fellow human Beings:

Over the past few weeks I have been engaged in several seminars and conferences about education – how education methods have changed over the years and where they are trending.

I work in an educational institution and am surrounded by creative and thirsty minds eager to learn and expand their horizons.

I’m also not afraid to admit that I am a self-proclaimed, perpetual learner, ever-ready to discover new things, ideas and concepts, which expand my understanding of myself and the world around me.

With all this education on the brain, I recently came across a saying by Confucius that made me pause and reflect.

How am I learning?  How are we learning?

Confucius said:

“Tell me, and I will forget.

Show me, and I may remember.

Involve me, and I will understand.”

Lectures?  Videos? Case studies and practice?

Will you forget, remember or understand?

This train of thinking reminded me of the different types of wisdom and how it may be applied to learning meditation.

We may start with blind faith wisdomWe read about meditation and its benefits and accept what we read as true and correct.

As we get more interested in meditation, we may attend dharma talks and have contemplative discussions.  We may watch videos of people meditating and hear their accounts of the benefits of meditation in their lives.  We question and reflect on what we’ve seen and heard and intellectually accept it all as true as part of our reasoned wisdom.

However, unless we take a step on the path ourselves and through our own practice experience the benefits of meditation, we will not gain experiential wisdom.

Listen, watch and discuss, or get involved – how will you learn?

Will you forget, remember or understand?

Why not start taking a step on the path towards freedom from suffering, by pausing right now and taking a few moments to just sit and breathe with me?

Take a few deep conscious breaths.

Focus your full attention on your breath, coming in and going out.

In and out.

In     and    out.

In             and           out.

 Be still.

 

Be still and know.

 

Be still and know that I Am.

 

Be still and know that I Am …

 Be still, connect and live abundantly!

Relevant complementary posts:

Can you be too old to learn?

Are you ready to go back to school?

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

