Be Present, Be Grateful, Recognize Your Riches

Hello my fellow human Beings:

It is so good to be back with you all after my few  week month hiatus from the blogosphere.  Thank you all for your good wishes and blessings.  The wedding was amazing!

Although it was a whirlwind of work and emotions to get to the day, I had made a commitment to myself that on my wedding day I was going to be as fully present for as much of the day as I could, or at least for the duration of the ceremony.

So, after not sleeping much the night before, I woke up early and started the day meditating alone.

BE PRESENT.

I looked out my window and watched the snow flakes falling down. (Yes, it was snowing, not raining, at the end of April.)  We hadn’t planned for this, but I had to accept that this was going to be the weather on my wedding day.  I paused for a few minutes and took in the silent beauty of the gentle, snowflakes falling over a cityscape waking up.

BE STILL.

I starting getting ready and made a few extra phone calls to try to arrange for warmer gear for the cold outdoor photos later on in the day.

As others buzzed anxiously around me and we completed the tasks on the to-do lists, I continued to be mindful of each moment — pausing often to just breathe and be still.  Issues arose, other things didn’t go as planned, people were nervous and their emotions were running high, an electricity hummed about … but I reminded myself that my main goal today was to just be present.

BREATHE.

Issues were resolved, plans changes, people managed their own “stuff” and I was open to being fully in the moment, absorbing the preciousness of each moment – one moment at a time.

BREATHE.

All the hard work and planning leading up to this day was to make it a special, memorable day for my spouse and I.  Walking into the church for the ceremony, I had to trust all the other helpers that they would do their parts, scripted and unscripted.  In that moment, I had a choice to make, either I could worry and get distracted about the little “stuff”, or I could focus on being mindful, being present and being grateful for the opportunity to get married, surrounded by family and friends.

BE GRATEFUL.

I chose the latter and immersed myself in the present moment connecting with it fully and banking all the preciousness of the feelings, faces and facets of this milestone with my full being.

 BE CONNECTED.

The smiles, the songs, the readings, the words, the feelings, the vows, the traditions, the new beginnings – I was present and at peace with it all.

BE PEACEFUL.

Much of my focus was on being in the now with my spouse throughout the ceremony.  So when the time came, later in the ceremony, for us to go up on the altar to sign the legal documents, it was a perfect occasion to pause, reflect, and look out at all our family and friends gathered and feel their love wash over us.  … and I knew that I was oh, so, richly blessed!!

BE GRATEFUL.

By consciously and determinately being mindful for that day, I realized that if I could make that effort on any given day to just be present, to be connected and to be grateful, I would recognize how rich I was all the time.

We all could.

BE RICH.

We all could be present, be grateful and realize how full of blessings our lives really are and how much beauty and happiness exists, even when plans go awry, the unexpected happens and uncertainty lives on.

So I leave you with this quote from  contemporary spiritual teacher, Eckhart Tolle, and encourage you to be present, be grateful and recognize the riches in your own lives.

Being rich or wealthy is being in touch with the fullness of life. When you are open to the present moment, what comes in, is a gratitude for “what is”. When you are aligned with the present moment, there is a peace that comes, so it is as if you are experiencing life for the first time, when you become present. When you are in a state of gratitude for what is … that is really what being wealthy means.

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

