Handling Life’s Explosive Reactions

Hello my fellow human Beings:

Have you ever had an irate customer, boss or co-worker blow up with angry words directed at you because of an unwanted outcome that may not even have to do with you?

Have you ever experienced an unexpected allergic reaction or severe food intolerance in which your body fiercely protests an ingested food or environmental allergen?

Have you ever experienced sudden hot flashes or severe menstrual cramps?

Add feeling tired, hungry or sick to this mix and you have a volatile cocktail of physical, mental, and emotional reactions ready to erupt into a volcanic explosion in you.

Is this the recipe for a perfect storm?

It could be, but it doesn’t have to be.

In any of the situations described above, there is an unpleasant situation occurring and affecting our bodies through one of our sense doors.  If we allow our egos to react to that unpleasantness with negative thoughts and negative emotions, then we multiply our suffering exponentially.  We have a hurricane of whirling thoughts, crashing emotions, and damaging reactions.

However, if during these unpleasant situations, we can go to the eye of the storm – that calm, quiet centre, where there is serenity amidst the turmoil, then we can detach from the unpleasantness and connect to our True Essence.  We can remember that we are not these physical sensations, we are not these egoic thoughts, and we are not these negative emotions. We are the Isness that is experiencing all that is going on within our bodies and outside our bodies. We are the Being that is aware of the situations, sensations, thoughts and emotions. We are the “I AM”.

Contemporary spiritual teacher and author, Eckhart Tolle, in his book, Stillness Speaks, reminds us of this essential fact, when he writes:

“When you lose touch with inner stillness, you lose touch with yourself.

When you lose touch with yourself, you lose yourself in the world.

Your innermost sense of self, of who you are, is inseparable from stillness.

This is the I Am that is deeper than name or form.”

I personally experienced some of the above scenarios this week with heaping dashes of other volatile ingredients just bubbling beneath the surface getting ready to erupt into a volcanic explosion.  As I became aware of the reactions percolating within me, I paused to breathe deeply and to breathe reflectively.

Breathe in.

I am aware.

Breathe out.

I let go.

Breathe in.

I am alert.

Breathe out.

I am detached.

Breathe in.

I am the calm amidst the storm.

Breathe out.

I AM.

I may have had to start the meditative breathing process over again and again each time the negativities began to brew, but the continued patient and persistent practice helped me weather my life’s storms in the safety of the calm eye.

So the next time you find yourself facing life’s storms, remember to PAUSE, be still, BREATHE, connect to your still inner essence, the I AM that knows intuitively you are not the unpleasant situations.  In doing so, you will be able to handle life’s explosion reactions in a calm, equanimous manner and you will live more abundantly.

2 thoughts on “Handling Life’s Explosive Reactions

  1. Again my dear Valerie, I can’t believe the synchronicity of thoughts! I was precisely thinking of that space between a stimulus and a reaction and how often we just barrel through without taking a moment to pause, to observe and be aware of what is happening. Thank you for showing the way. Hugs, Sharon

    • Hi Sharon:

      Thank you for your succinct summary of the post’s message. Yes, I feel we are connected on this path in life, despite living in two different countries separated by a vast ocean. I am truly grateful to have found you this year on the path. Even though we must each take our own steps on the path, it is reassuring to know that you are a fellow traveller on the journey. Wishing that 2013 provides more advancement on the path for you and that you continue to live abundantly.

      Blessings my friend!

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

