Are you properly tuned in?

Hello my fellow human Beings:

Do you feel a little fuzzy?

          Are your dreams out of focus?

                     Do you feel a little lost and unsure?

For me, the arrival of Easter meant the end of Lent — a time of discipline, reflection, and determination — all in aid of a goal that seemed to culminate with the Easter celebrations.

It also meant that I didn’t need to track or be accountable for my goals as the end line had come and gone.

Over the last few days, I have felt a little lost and unsteady.  I have felt a little down.  Not having my small goals to strive for daily, I have been discouraged in my pursuit of my bigger goals.

My focus had shifted from the hope, anticipation and assurance that I am capable of achieving my goals to the despair, worry and self-doubt that I made some wrong decisions.

I am reminded of what Henry Ford said:

 “Whether you think you can or you can’t, you’re right!”

It is true, what we think about ourselves can play out in our lives.  The situations we encounter, the people we meet, the interactions we have are often brought to us based on what we think, feel and believe.  So if we change our thinking, we can change our lives.

But how do we change our thinking?

This is no easy task, especially when we are tired, sad or ill, because we so easily resort back to our old ways.  The status quo is so much easier (we think), even if it just perpetuates the same old, miserable junk.

So how can we get refocused and tuned back in to be connected to our True/Higher Selves that guide us to follow our life’s purpose of being our true and authentic beings filled with love, happiness and peace?

For me, this refocusing or retuning of my Being to my True/Higher Self means following three practices:

(1) Reinstate small, daily goals for a healthy body and mind.

(2) Express gratitude every day.

(3) Be open, listen, and follow through.

By instilling these practices, I reconnect my body, mind and spirit and tune back in to my guidance system leading me on my path in the best direction for my life.

So, I will once again monitor my Lenten goals for daily exercise and meditation times to keep my mind and body healthy. (Ever notice how after a good workout or a good meditation sit, how wonderful you feel? It’s no surprise that when you take care of your body and mind, your Being takes care of you.)

Next, I will not only maintain my gratitude journal entries, but I will find ways to express my gratitude to others verbally or through random acts of kindness and thanksgiving.

Finally, by following the first two practices, I will be more connected to Spirit, more attuned to my Godness and will seek to listen and be open to what guidance I may receive. (You never know what form this guidance may show up as – perhaps, through a fellow blogger’s great post, a message you hear in a song or a talk, a certain passage you read in a book, or the conversation you have with a friend, acquaintance or stranger.) [Remember: Be open to the messages received and truly hear them!]  Then, having received the guidance, I will follow through and take the next step, no matter how uncomfortable or fearful it may make me feel at first.

For it is in putting ourselves out there, our true, authentic selves out for the world to see, that we are rewarded with an abundant life.

As ground -breaking and pioneering scientist and double Nobel Prize winner, Marie Curie reminds us:

“Life is not easy for any of us.  But what of that?  We must have perseverance and above all confidence in ourselves.  We must believe that we are gifted for something, and that this thing, at whatever cost, must be attained.”

So go out there, put in place the practices to refocus and retune you to your life goals, and believe that you have the gifts to achieve those goals, no matter what!

As Deepak Chopra coaches us in his book, The Path to Love:

 “Attune yourself to spirit, and it will speak to you in love.”

So this week, I encourage you to find time to be still, to instill practices to connect you to your True Self and your life’s purposes and goals, listening to the guidance of spirit speaking to you in love and leading you on the  path to your abundant life!

6 thoughts on “Are you properly tuned in?

  1. I do not live in Toronto so only visited your group once but the messages you send out are read and taken to heart. They help me feel connected to you still. Thank you.

  2. Lily, Antony, Aina and Brenda:

    It was such a pleasant surprise to see all your wonderful comments. Thank you all for your kind words. Whether near or far, we can connect and communicate via the internet (and WordPress), both great inventions we can be grateful for!

  3. Pingback: Are you preparing for the end or a new beginning? | The Still Spot

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

