Do You Take Regular Sleep Vacations?

Hello my fellow human Beings:

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines SLEEP as:

“the natural periodic suspension of consciousness during which the powers of the body are restored”

Ahhhh, yes, that is what we all want each night, just some time for the powers of our bodies to be restored. This rest period is especially desired and needed when we are sick, tired, overworked, anxious, overwhelmed, and physically and mentally exhausted.

We all lead busy, active lives (even if it’s more mentally active than physically active). Our senses are continually bombarded by stimuli a countless number of times each day. So at the end of the day, we look forward to that needed break from the hustle and bustle of fully conscious wakefulness.

Sleep helps us naturally restore our bodies’ energy, heal our ailments, and provide rest for our active minds.

However, these benefits of sleep will only happen if we properly prepare for sleep each night.

In a talk on his writings on “Falling In Love With Sleep”, Dr. Rubin Naiman, an internationally recognized healer in integrative sleep and dream medicine commented that:

“I would think of [sleep] as sort of an overnight spiritual getaway. If you look into this as sort of a little vacation you’re taking, or a respite, a spiritual respite from the day, it’s interesting that people … go into this vacation focusing on what they’re going to do when they get home. So they descend into the waters of sleep without a conscious intention. They descend into the waters of sleep without a conscious intention of experiencing sleep. Instead they’re focused on sort of a shoreline of [the] next morning’s awakening.”

So how can we take regular sleep vacations each night?

There is a mass of information written on proper sleep rituals, including what to eat/not eat, drink/not drink and do/not do, before bed. I’ll leave it to you to get those tips from the sleep experts. (As an aside, there are even trips that you can take to locations around the world, where hotels and resorts will pamper you so that you can get some good nights of sleep. We’ll leave those to the rich and distressed.)

What I plan to continue to do are a few things that help me wind down and take advantage of a reprieve from a busy day and a restorative night of sleep. They include:

  • having my planning for the next day done before I step into the bedroom;
  • leaving the TV, computer, tablet and/or smartphone out of the bedroom (or off), so that I’m not playing games, reading emails or stimulating my brain to stay awake with all that light and sensory activity;
  • meditating to calm my mind’s activity and helping my subconscious mind not to continually react during sleep; and
  • reflecting on what I am grateful for that day, which could take the form of a prayer of thanksgiving, a loving-kindness meditation or a gratitude journal entry, or all three.

What are ways that you prepare for a good sleep vacation?

Whatever your preferences may be, don’t forget to take time to PAUSE, be still, reflect on the fact that you are going to embark on a sleep vacation, and you will find that your sleeping and waking moments will all be part of your abundant life!

9 thoughts on “Do You Take Regular Sleep Vacations?

  1. Hi Valerie,

    I love the name of Dr. Naiman’s book, because I DO love sleep. I like his idea of going to sleep with the intention of relaxing/sleeping and without the focus on waking up. It’s not something I ever thought of doing, but will try it tonight! Thanks!

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. This is a very interesting idea. I do have to admit that I spend part of my winding down time focused on my to dos for the next day. I’ll have to try to move that to earlier in my evening and try to do some meditation or praying right before trying to sleep.

  3. Good ideas, Valerie. Sleep deprivation is a growing problem in western cultures. Our minds are too active and clogged with too much “doing” rather than adequate focus on “being.” My daughter brought me some wonderful tea from Korea that is used to promote good rest. It has small dried flowers that “bloom” in the cup. One dried flower is all it takes. Good stuff!

  4. Very interesting! I’ve never thought of sleep as a vacation, but I guess it is a mini vacation for your body and mind. 🙂 Thanks for sharing I look forward to other great post from you!

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

