Can you be too old to learn?

Hello my fellow human Beings:

I think you can never be too old to learn. As I like to say, I am a perpetual student, always learning and growing through my experiences and encounters with others and my own depths of being.

This past weekend, I participated in several workshops in which practitioners shared their knowledge and expertise in various health and well-being techniques for body and mind. Not every one of them was my cup of tea, but I was respectful and open to hearing what others had to say, truly listening to why they were passionate about their techniques, and experiencing their passion through their actions. Then, through my own reasoning, analysis, experience and fit with my beliefs and moral code, I incorporated some new learnings into my life, so that I could amplify my abundant living.

Mahatma Gandhi, a preeminent political, spiritual and ideological leader and social activist in India, remarked:

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”

… and to live happily he explained that:

“Happiness is when what you think, what you say and what you do are in harmony.”

To me, learning does not just come from sitting in a classroom or from reading books. It comes from our experiences and interactions with the world around us:

  • by changing our rose-coloured glasses for violet-coloured ones,
  • by taking a left turn rather than the usual right turn, and
  • by opening our minds and hearts to possibilities we had not previously dreamed of.

Martine Batchelor, a teacher and writer of Buddhist meditation and a former Zen Buddhist nun, in her book, Meditation For Life, wrote:

“Wisdom does not mean knowledge but experiential understanding.  Wisdom helps you to change radically your habits and perceptions, as you discover the constantly changing, interconnected nature of the whole of existence.”

So this week, I invite you to open your hearts and minds to learning something new about yourself and the world around you.

Take the time to be still, BREATHE, look at the world through a fresh set of eyes, dare to experience something different, enrich your wisdom and live more abundantly!

One thought on “Can you be too old to learn?

  1. Pingback: Forget, remember or understand? | The Still Spot

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

