We Are All Connected

Hello my fellow human Beings:

I recently visited the Toronto Zoo. It was something I hadn’t done since I was a child. Yet it was a place that I was reminded of the universal truth that we are all connected.

Observing the animals I noticed how similar many of their behaviours were to humans.

For example, there was a mother and young orangutan. The young orangutan was perched atop a wooden play structure (much like you would find in your local playground for kids in the park) playing ‘peek-a-boo’ with a blanket over his head. Meanwhile, the mother orangutan sat on the ground keeping an eye on her little one as he played. She had a snack of sunflower seeds, cleaned her nails, and rearranged her blankets around her. Then, surveying that there were no threats of danger to her or her young, she gathered her blankets together in a comfortable, rounded pile and settled in for a nap.

Can you not see yourself or someone you know in the behaviours of these orangutans?

I was aware that many faith traditions (Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism and Native Spirituality to name a few) all believe that all life is connected, that we are all one. So I searched to find just the right quote from these faith traditions that would capture this belief, this truth.

In my search, I came across this quote from Mitch Albom in his book, The Five People You Meet In Heaven, which I think captures this truth eloquently:

“There are no random acts …

We are all connected …

You can no more separate one life from another than you can separate a breeze from the wind.”

So this week, I invite you to remember how you are connected to all life – all humans, all animals, all plants, all beings.

Take the time to be still in the world around you, BREATHE, observe your interconnectedness with life, and live more fully and abundantly!

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

