Are you living authentically?

Hello my fellow human Beings:

Are you consistent in your behaviour, words and tone?  Do you keep your promises?  Do you recognize the importance of living truthfully?  Are you open about your own weaknesses?

Growing into adulthood, I strove to “do the right thing”, and “be the right person that the world expected me to be”.   Yes, I was a self-proclaimed perfectionist.  I tried to think, speak and act to give the perfect appearance of the good child, the good employee, the good citizen of the world.

In truth, this is a very arduous and (frequently) unrewarding role to play, especially since no matter how much planning and preparation I may put in, life was there to throw me a curve ball and alter my plans. As Robert Burns wrote in his poem To A Mouse: “the best laid plans of mice and men often go awry”. …and often going awry is no understatement.

In time I have come to learn that not being your True Self is a much harder, more worrisome and more unfulfilling way to live.  The false self of the ego veils the brilliance of the essence of our True Selves and is a lonely friend.

Although I am not perfect, I am, like all of you, human. I am a spiritual being living a human existence. As such, I make mistakes, I have weaknesses and I will not live a life that will please everybody.

So what’s the final analysis? What really matters?

Well, to me, it is living an authentic life, true to the being that I am. This means striving to think, speak and act in a manner that is consistent, truthful, authentic and real. It means living a real life, a proud life, a life of integrity.

Gary Chapman, an ordained minister and marriage counselor, notes in his book, Love As A Way of Life:

“When we speak truthfully, we are being honest. When we live truthfully, we are being authentic, we are being people of integrity.”

So this week, I invite you to live the truth of yourself in all that you think, say and do.

If you are not sure if what you will say or do is honest and authentic, then:

  • PAUSE.
  • Breathe.
  • Ask yourself if your intended words or actions reflect the traits of a loving person (i.e. kindness, patience, forgiveness, courtesy, generosity and humility).
  • Then speak and act out of that loving being that you truly are.

… and you will live authentically and abundantly!

2 thoughts on “Are you living authentically?

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

