The Times They Are A-Changin’

Hello my fellow human Beings: 

Yes, the times sure are changing.  Whether it is the seasons, the weather, our bodies or our mental processes, change is all around us and within is.

Bob Dylan sings in his song, The Times They Are A-Changin’:

“Come gather ’round people

Wherever you roam

And admit that the waters

Around you have grown

And accept it that soon

You’ll be drenched to the bone

If your time to you

Is worth savin’

Then you better start swimmin’

Or you’ll sink like a stone

For the times they are a-changin’.”

Well the waters around me sure have grown with all the technological advancements for human interactions. People now text and tweet, and, pingg and poke, as accepted norms of communication.

For some time now, I’ve been resistant to these new forms of social media. Those of you over 30 can likely relate to the fact that we get comfortable in our old ways of doing things – those old habit patterns that flow so easily for us.  Understanding new-fangled languages and learning new behaviours and tools takes time and effort and can make us anxious and worried about how we will deal with all the uncertainty.

But change is a given. Change is a universal truth.

S. N. Goenka, a retired successful businessperson and former leader of the Indian community in Burma, and my Vipassana meditation teacher, writes in The Art of Living:

“Every moment the subatomic particles of which the body is composed arise and pass away. Every moment the mental functions appear and disappear, one after another. Everything inside oneself, physical and mental, just as in the world outside, is changing every moment. …This is the reality of mind and matter: It is changing and impermanent – anicca [Ed. note: ‘Anicca’ is the Pali word for ‘change’.]

So, as the perpetual student that I say that I am, I embarked on a journey to learn to traverse the changing waters of our technological time. First, I became still, meditating and breathing to calm my anxiety and worries, and to accept the changing world around me. Then, I set out to study, research, consult and, with trial-and-error, create my first blog.

Did it take time and effort?     YES.

Did I have to understanding new tools and languages?     YES.

Did I have to change my mental processes and behaviours?     YES.

Did I fall on my face, get humiliated, embarrassed or abused, or fail?     NO. (I think not, but you can tell me what you think of my first blog, which is still a work-in-progress.)

I accepted, rather than resisted, the reality that change happens and I learned to swim in the Sea of Anicca.

They say you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, but I say, YES YOU CAN, IF YOU ACCEPT CHANGE!

So when you are faced with the rising waters of the Sea of Anicca (Change) around and within you, take the time to:

  • be still,
  • BREATHE,
  • look within,
  • connect,
  • embrace change wholeheartedly, and
  • live more fully and abundantly!
3 thoughts on “The Times They Are A-Changin’

  1. Val,
    You’ve done extremely well with your new blog. Congrats! actually, it’s much easier to read now, and I can easily view it directly from my smartphone! Great!

    Again, nice job, and I look forward to your next blog.

    My Very Best,
    Guy

    • Thanks for your kind words, Guy. I was hoping that loyal readers like yourself would enjoy the enhancements and that new readers would also benefit from the messages conveyed through this blog.

  2. Pingback: Can you teach an old dog (or conditioned human) new tricks? | The Still Spot

Do you have a comment? Write it here!

